Fire Department

The fire department is all volunteer/paid on call fire department consisting of 30 members. We proudly protect approximately 10,000 citizens living in the Stevens/Swift Counties Fire Rescue districts. We also provide mutual aid to our surrounding fire departments – Donnelly, Hancock, Cyrus, and Chokio. We meet on the 1st, 3rd & 5th Monday nights of the every month for required training hours and regular business meetings.

The fire department operates with funds that are budgeted by the City of Morris. New members are required to complete approximately 150 hours of training before being placed on active duty. The department averages approximately 2000 man-hours of training annually.

Fire department personnel visit the local schools each year teaching fire safety and distributing fire safety training materials to the students. These functions have proven to be valuable at reducing fire accidents, injuries and fatalities within the fire district.

Anyone interested in becoming a member of the department is invited to stop by Morris city hall to pick up an application.

Team Members

Matt Solemsaas

Fire Department Chief


Matt Solemsaas

Fire Chief

Morris Fire Hall
107 Atlantic Avenue
Morris, MN 56267



The Morris Fire Department is now accepting applications. Applications can be dropped off or mailed to Morris City Hall 610 Oregon Ave, Morris, MN 56267 or emailed to Chief Matt Solemsaas.